Before moving your license, consider whether you want to preserve your Roon database, including:
Playlists
Tags
Play history
Edits and customizations
Library settings
If you plan to keep this data, we recommend creating a backup of your existing Roon Server and restoring it on the new Server after authorization.
Note: During the authorization process, Roon displays a "Your data in Roon" reminder dialog. Selecting "I'm all set" only dismisses the reminder. It does not move your license, disconnect any servers, or make changes to your data. No changes are made until you select Switch. Depending on your account and Server setup, you'll see one of two authorization flows.
If your license is currently associated with a single Server, Roon will display:
The Server that is currently connected (authorized)
The new Server that is ready to connect
If multiple servers are available on your account, you'll be asked to choose which server to disconnect before authorizing the new server.
To move your license:
- Under "Choose a device to disconnect", select the Server you want to disactivate.
- Verify the Server listed under "Your new server"
- Press Switch. The selected server will be disconnected, and the new server will become your active Roon Server.